Guest Reviews

Your comments can either be entered into our Guest Reviews Page and signed for example - Paul Mt Hotham or Jim and Pam Geelong. or by going directly to TripAdvisor and writing your review there.

If you do not wish your comment to be published, please add footnote.

Our business is better for the wonderful guests whom have taken the time to tell others of their experience, we are greatly appreciative for this.

Thank you, such a lovely place to stay

Kate

Fabulous People, Fabulous Place.

Stan UK

My husband and I stayed at the Bairnsdale Motel in October, 2011. We both agree it is the best motel we can remember staying at. Very attractive and unusual decor, very comfortable bed, immaculately clean and we just loved the bathroom design. The owners
have thought of everything and were very pleasant and helpful

Amanda

Thanks for providing these details within your website.

LogoNow

A work mate recommended me to your site. Thnx for the details.

web design melbourne

We stayed in Room 17 on a Saturday night. Good sized room, great bathroom, very good appointments. Bed was very comfortable, room was spotlessly clean and everything worked. We were very happy with our stay (I can’t remember having such a great nights rest in a Motel before). I would not hesitate to stay here again if in Bairnsdale. Stayed March 2012, travelled on business – review received thru Trip Advisor Bernie Davis, Owner at Bairnsdale Motel, responded to this review 25 March 2012 /// Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments, Unit 17 is our Easy Access room also suitable for guests with special needs and many advise it is the BEST they have stayed in. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Bernie

Guest review

A family member referred me to your resource. Thank you for the details.

mini bins brighton

My family and I booked for 1 night and loved the ambiance so much we stayed another night. I have stayed in hotels/motels all over the world and I can highly recommend this fine motel. I am a very picky sleeper and found this to be the most comfortable nights sleep I have had away from home. (Even more so than hotels at 5 times the price!) The service was polite, friendly and efficient. I congratulated the owners on leaving and the comment that stuck with me is ‘We sell sleeps’, and isn’t this exactly what we look for in a hotel/motel. /// Ron thank you for your very kind words. It is always a pleasure to welcome our guests and to hear on checkout that they had a GREAT sleep, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Bernie , Owner

Ron - Sassafras

We discovered an eye-catching motel at a sensible price – clean, comfortable, contemporary – the new-ish Bairnsdale Motel. Loved the decor and luxury touches, and appreciated the excellent service and environmentally-friendly principles. Easy to drive past on a service road – but definitely worth doing a U-turn for! Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple. /// Thank you for your kind words, your comments are greatly appreciated. – Bernie – Owner

Chris - thru Trip Advisor

Great quality hotel with old fashioned service The bed and pillows were huge and reaaaallly comfortable 9.7 From the moment we arrived we were greeted by the owners with a friendly smile and a desire to help us get settled. Services available were explained, the rooms were fresh, clean and reasonably new at around 3 years old. That evening we chose to a nearby club for dinner and the owner took us to the club in his car which was only 700 metres away. Talk about friendly!! Breakfast in the hotel was great as well which rounded off the stay for the Easter weekend. Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Get up to the Buchan Limestone Caves and have a go at the fish co-op in Lakes Entrance. All well worth it. /// Thank you for taking the time to contribute to our guests reviews, these are very helpful to future guests. Your valued comments are appreciated. Regards Bernie

Gary M

Beautiful rooms Great bed, good facility and friendly service 9.3 Had very positive stay in the hotel, everything was great! Restaurant Tip: Had bad experience with the cooking in he bistro, lamb are over burned and dry, taste nothin like lamb. The steak with medium cook, still bleeds when served! And the fry fish are also very dry. Don’t ever commend the bistro near the sport convention centre. Zoe W. Couple Australia, 8 April 2012 /// Dear Zoe, Thank you for your contribution to our guest reviews, we appreciate your comments and know they will assist others to make the choice of 42 Great Alpine Road, when staying in Bairnsdale. We are sorry your meal experience was not acceptable, your valuable comments have been passed on to the restaurant concerned. Regards Bernie

Zoe W - thru Agoda

“Hard to beat” Reviewed 1 May 2012 NEW We booked for one night and would of been happy staying a week…the facility presents like “new”. The room had all the comforts you’d expect: King Bed, Washing machine & dryer, deep bath tub separate shower…beautifully appointed. Nice and quiet too. Stayed April 2012 /// Thank you for your comments, we appreciate our guests sharing their experiences with fellow travellers, through our site. – Regards Sonja

gol - thru Trip Advisor

“Really excellent motel in Bairnsdale” Reviewed 24 February 2012 from TRIP ADVISOR – I only saw this place driving past – have stayed in a few places in Bairnsdale before but this is definitely the best. Room decor is a bit odd with faux corrugated iron in parts, and it tries to look unnecessarily swish – but it was a good night’s sleep. Good to see this motel turns off the lights at 11pm to let you sleep, places that leave them on all night always annoy me! Breakfast was really good too. It’s on the quieter side of town with less traffic on this road than the main drag, and it’s set well back. Stayed February 2012, travelled on business /// Your comments are greatly appreciated, regards Sonja

gc Melbourne - ex Trip Advisor

What a lovely unexpected surprise. We were delighted to find a place that had everything we might have expected in a good quality motel but so much more. We only stayed one night but wished we had been able to stay longer. We would certainly recommend it to friends and if we ever come back this way we would not bother looking for anything else. The room was larger than normal, the bathroom with spa bath was unexpected. There were so many extras that are too many to list. Hot breakfast in the breakfast room was excellent. Thanks very much – it was a good way to begin our holiday. /// It is our pleasure to look after you during your stay, we trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Sonja

Christine and Peter

“A little haven.” Reviewed 20 May 2012 to Trip Advisor NEW This is a really lovely motel. The rooms are immaculate. The attention to detail is spot on. The rooms are beautifully appointed. I just loved the little herb and veggie gardens outside the rooms. The friendly, helpful hosts have thought of everything. We were on the road and I called ahead to let them know we’d be late, and they put the lights and the heater on for us so it was nice and cosy when we arrived. The breakfasts are delicious too. I wish all motels were like this one. Stayed May 2012, travelled on business /// Hello Monique, thank you for taking the time to advise others of your experience at our property. It is our pleasure to welcome you and to hear you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Sonja

Monique

My husband and I had my elderly mother-in-law with us and she was provided with the suite next door which is all laid out for easy access – rails, shower chair etc. The rooms are scrupulously clean and very well appointed. Our only disappointment was the that weather (in June) was too cold for us to use our private outdoor hottub. Breakfast was all fresh and cooked individually if requested. Thankyou Bernie & Sonja and best wishes for the future /// Hello Meredith, thank you for your very valuable comments, we look forward to your return so you can enjoy the courtyard jacuzzi in warmer temperatures. It” s always nice to meet nice people. Regards Sonja

Meredith B

I just wanted to quickly write to say thank you for your excellent service. I stayed at your motel on Monday night and left my wedding band in my room. Thank you very much for mailing it back to me and for the friendly and helpful service during my stay.
I will certainly look to stay with you again when I’m back in Bairnsdale and will be recommending you to my colleagues. // It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and no trouble at all to forward your wedding ring to you. We look forward to welcoming
you and your collegues back to Bairnsdalemotel.com in the future.

AB Melbourne

Bairnsdale Motel – lovely. Good sized room,beautifully appointed, very comfy and large bed. Very friendly hosts and a great breakfast in the cosy dining room. 9.5 /// Thank you for your kind comments, it was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Bernie will look forward to cooking a ‘ Big Breakfast’ for you on your next visit. Regards Sonja

Paul & Aileen

A short note to say thanks for your warm hospitality. I really enjoyed my stay and felt so rested after five good nights sleep. It felt strange this morning to cook my own breakfast – I need a Bernie in the kitchen! I look forward to seeing you both when I’m next in Bairnsdale. Best wishes RH/// Our pleasure to have you stay, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. – Bernie

RH Victoria

Recently my parents and I stayed in your fantastic motel and as my Mothers health is not 100% you made our stay most comfortable and we throughly appreciated you pre-heating the room for us – it was old fashioned hospitality at it’s best. Great food and clean foods. //// Thank you for your comments, we like to think our guests will feel at home during their stay with us and we look forward to welcoming them on their return. Bernie

Gary Ryan

I frequently visit Bairnsdale for work and have stayed at many places but Bairnsdale Motel is by far the nicest place to stay at. The rooms are huge, the facilities brand new, the service is five star. I would definitely highly recommend Bairnsdalemotel whether your here for work or pleasure. //// Jawed when our corporate guests return to Bairnsdalemotel.com we realise nowhere is as good as home, but we like you to feel that you are returning to the comforts that you deserve after the long days you put in at work. Our sincere thanks – Bernie

Jawed Noori

I frequently visit Bairnsdale for work and have stayed at many places but Bairnsdale Motel is by far the nicest place to stay at. The rooms are huge, the facilities brand new, the service is five star. I would definitely highly recommend Bairnsdalemotel for singles/couples/families. //// Thank you Jawed for your review, Bernie and I appreciate your comments and assure you it is our pleasure to have you stay with us. Regards Sonja

Jawed Noori

“High Quality Motel” Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile The best choice in town. Friendly service. From room amenities to bed sheet, they are at the highest standard. I recommended this motel. The room was clean. Thought that it was a new motel. In fact it has opened for 4 years. //// Leong – Thank you for taking the time to advise fellow travellers of your stay. With our 4 year anniversary coming up this December, we aim to continue providing excellent quality service and facitilies which the travelling public deserve and your comments will assure others. Regards Bernie.

Leong

This is by far the best motel we have ever stayed in. The room was so comfortable, with every amenity you could wish or. The breakfasts were fantastic. As for the hosts, they were so friendly and were happy to help in whatever way they could. Lovely surroundings, great places to walk around the wetlands nearby. We would love to return, and will certainly recommend it to others. ///// John and Helen what pleasure it gives us to receive these comments from our guests. Having stayed several days,we could see that you were enjoying yourselves and especially the walk to the wetlands area It is very nice of you to write, mentioning the breakfasts, I know Bernie spoilt you with the omelette and I enjoyed the discussions about the cars. We hope your journeys both near and far will bring you back our way soon. Regards Sonja & Bernie

John and Helen Wyatt

Thank you for a well equipped unit, comfortable and very clean. Jo W. //// We appreciate your comments and hope you are both enjoying discovering new territories, Regards Sonja

Jo W.

RobinLeChaudLapin Noosaville, Australia Contributor 15 reviews 6 hotel reviews Reviews in 11 cities 3 helpful votes “Best Motel in Australia!!” Reviewed 18 November 2012 Based on the Trip Adviser ratings we booked for a night! When we arrived we wanted to stay longer!! We were very pleasantly welcomed by Sonja who, when she brought some fresh milk to our room, noticed the window had some(very little) bird poop on it. She immediately returned with a cloth to wipe the window, and Bernie also arrived with an additional (third) chair for the patio area – which we then proceeded to use, as it was very pleasant sitting outside for an hour or so. This was our introduction to the motel – and we were very impressed. As is stated elsewhere the rooms are immaculate, very clean, very modern and definitely not looking four years old – everything looked and worked as new. We were given recommendations for dinner – which were spot on. Breakfast was a feast, plenty of choice and plenty of food – very good value – much better than going out. We cannot recommend the motel more highly than by saying it is the best we have stayed in in Australia over the past ten years, and we now have a reason to return to Bairnsdale. Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends This review was posted to TripAdvisor Sonja, Owner at Bairnsdale Motel, responded to this review 21 November 2012 Hello Robin, What a wonderful accolade to bestow upon us “Best Motel in Australia” but can we say we would be honoured to be the “Best Motel in Bairnsdale” for now, it would be a great reputation to live up to. Everyday we meet wonderful people and check them into their rooms and confirm all is well and as they would expect. By the time they are ready to checkout, they have become very valued friends and this is what we found with your stay. Your review is very precious to us and fellow travellers. Kindest Regards Sonja. We do hope you will be back soon and your sister has a safe journey on her return to UK.

Robin - Noosaville

Fantastic facility, very homely, just like staying at their home, very welcoming. Extremely comfortable beds as well. Great breakfast, all over excellent visit. Hello Chris, Thank you for your very kind comments received today. It was our pleasure to meet you and we do appreciate that you did feel at home at our place. When we work 24/7 this is our home and it is nice to hear that our guests did feel that they were staying in our home. This is our ultimate aim, with great beds and Bernie’s Brekkie. We do hope you got to your destination without any delays from the extreme heat yesterday. Enjoy the rest of your travels and we will look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Sonja & Bernie, Owners

Chris

“Misleading and false advertising” Reviewed 20 December 2012 I would love to say I enjoyed my stay at this Motel, sadly I didn’t get that far. I booked my room and quoted the offer for free breakfast at the top of this page. On Bairnsdale Motel’s webpage, it lists a Weekend offer of 10% if you book 2 nights, which we did. The owners of this motel refused to honour either the breakfast or 10% discount even though there are no terms or conditions listed with either offer. When I complained they cancelled my booking, without me requesting them to do so, although they said they were refunding my money, it has yet to be returned to my bank account. The misleading and false advertising of this motel has been reported to the ACCC. Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple (Writer did not stay) This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor Sonja Owner at Bairnsdale Motel, responded to this review 22 December 2012 Dear Mathew In reply to your comments on this forum, I can only apologise for your disappointment. This decision was brought about by the closing comment of your email to us Wednesday 19th 8.57pm stating: “”I do hope that our stay holds no further disappointments. “” This is not the forum to resolve problems and as you did not answer your mobile phone I emailed you. While I do not like to take part in a he said you said debate I have attached a copy of my email to you to allow us to explain our side as follows: Thursday 20 December 2012 @ 10.41am “ Dear Mathew, I appreciate your comments and see that you booked with us for all the wrong reasons. We are a 4 star luxury property our full rate, available any other time throughout the year is $190.00 for a courtyard King Spa. There are weekend specials available during the Year, but as a “Pre Christmas gift to you” we discounted all our rates considerably. In this case from $190 to $150 per night as clearly shown on the -Book Online page. As in all business transaction, only one discount applies and $40.00 discount per night is the best we can do. To avoid any further misunderstanding and disappointments we have refunded your payment immediately to allow you to book elsewhere. Regards Sonja Owner/Host “ Can I add that the weekend discount offered throughout the year was 10%, the “Pre Christmas Gift to You” was 21% as quoted for the room booked. Your comment regarding the refund of your payment is a little unfair as your payment was made through a third party –being credit card. Our transactions for that day were totalled off at 20th 12.57pm, your review to Trip advisor was received 20th December also. In the banking world transactions are not instant; this is why we choose to refund your payment immediately to giving you time to rebook elsewhere. In closing we trust you and your family will enjoy the Festive Season and Best Wishes for the Coming Year. Kind regards Sonja & Bernie Owner/Hosts

Mathew

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY” review received thru TRIP ADVISOR Reviewed 18 December 2012 NEW My wife and I stayed here for one night during a drive up the Great Alpine Road. I had seen this motel on other trips through Bairnsdale, and based on Tripadvisor reviews decided to stay there. Hosts could not have been more friendly, room could not have been better. Price was very reasonable for the quality of this place. Did not eat at the motel, but they gave me recommendations for a pub in town. Great safe carparking without worrying about your car getting damaged by another visitor. Highly recommended Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC 19 December 2012 Hello Tim Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. It’s always nice to meet nice people. I thank you for forwarding the information you were able to assist us with, it was very helpful. May we wish you and all our wonderful past, present and future guests a very safe Festive Season and may you all enjoy happiness and joy with family and friends. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2013. Kindest regards Sonja & Bernie Owner/Hosts

tim

On reading Matthew’s comments on his experience, I can only assume we are not speaking of the same Motel at which we stayed. Sonja and Bernie were most gracious and welcoming. We were offered a discount without requesting one and found the accommodation to be excellent, topped off with an enjoyable breakfast. As hosts, they were knowledgeable about the community and suggested areas we may find of interest. We will certainly stay with them when we next pass through Bairnsdale/// Dear Bill, how nice it is to hear from you, we were very happy to offer you the “Pre Christmas Gift to You” promotion on your arrival. It has been a busy Festive season and it is nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed a trip to Raymond Island to see the Kangaroos and the Koalas or a trip to Buchan Caves which they were not aware of. We are so pleased you enjoyed our breakfast selections, this is a great time for us to have a moment or two with our guests and make the suggestions of places to see while in the area. Best wishes for 2013 and we will certainly look forward to welcoming you back when next in Bairnsdale. Regards Sonja

Bill

I had the pleasure of staying at your wonderful motel. From the moment I telephoned I felt that you were a very friendly and pleasant man to deal with Bernie. I was offerd a great discount as I was on my own. Once I arrived and met both Bernie and Sonja I felt welcomed and relaxed. Advice on dining was great. The room was outstanding. Very modern, clean and comfortable. I had a lovely night and would definitely stay again. Thanks once again Bernie and Sonja.///// Hello Vicki, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We like to welcome all our guests as new friends and welcome them to our property accordingly. We will look forward to your return in the future. Kindest regards Bernie and Sonja Owner/Hosts

VICKI GILBERT

Once again I had the pleasure of staying at Bairnsdalemotel.com with Bernie & Sonja. As I have said previously it was outstanding. I would not contemplate staying anywhere else whilst in or near Bairnsdale. Vicki /// Hello Vicki, how nice to hear from you after your return stay with us. We are very family orientated people and having our guests return to stay with us, is like family coming to stay. We love it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, many thanks Vicki Regards Sonja.

VICKI GILBERT

I travel a lot for work and stay in a lot of regional and city accommodation. This week I had the pleasure for the first time of staying Bairnsdale Motel. Let me just say inviting, spacious, settling and modern all at the same time. If it is for work or a base for a special holiday do not hesitate, no second thought or shopping around required. Give Sonja and Bernie a call, then relax. By the way the outdoor spa and a beer is the way to end the day without leaving your room. Safe travels //// Hello Mark, What a lovely surprise to receive your review so soon after your departure, the pleasure was all ours. It is always nice to meet nice people. We are really proud of our property and with your comments, we are sure you will help other guests make the decision to come and stay with us. After all we are ……the place to stay in Bairnsdale!!! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Sonja & Bernie

Mark Williams ( National Sales Manager)

Richard R “The owners could not have been more helpful” Reviewed on Trip Advisor 30 March 2013 via mobile We had the deluxe queen double room, which was as good a room as you can find in any motel anywhere. We wish we could have used it for several days instead of just one. The only problem with the room was that it was so well equipped with other things that it did not have space for a washer and dryer. The owner said no problem and gave us the keys to a room that had not yet been cleaned so we could use the washer and dryer in that room. Then the owner told us that soon it would be the evening feeding time for the koalas and the kangaroos on Raymond Island. He gave us instructions how to drive the ten minutes to the island, how to take the little car ferry, and where to look for the animals. Sure enough, we saw one koala in a tree and two different groups of kangaroos. The room was great and the owners were even better. Sonja, Owner at bairnsdalemotel.com.au, responded to this review Hello Richard, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, Bernie and I enjoy meeting nice people and it is our pleasure to inform you of things to do and places to go while on your short stay in Bairnsdale. We look forward to welcoming you back to learn more about our country town and the surrounding areas. Regards Sonja Owner/Host

Richard

Andrew C Melbourne, Australia “Always a Great Place to stay” Reviewed on Trip Advisor 7 April 2013 I have stayed here many times and will not go anywhere else excellent accommodation, Spotless Rooms Comfort plus No Musty smells or dated furniture and clean surrounds great hosts that go out of their way to make sure the stay is memorable Its a credit to Sonja and Bernie…… Sonja, Owner at bairnsdalemotel.com.au, responded to this review Hello Andrew, Thank you for take time from your very busy business to write this review for us. We get great pleasure from welcoming back our valued guests and they often say its like coming home. When guests stay several days, we ensure they feel at home by attending to their needs, e.g. faxes, early breakfast, rooms serviced daily, it is important to us to have clean and tidy rooms for guests when they return from a busy day. e.g. faxes, early breakfast, rooms serviced daily, it is important to us to have clean and tidy rooms for guests when they return. Once again, we appreciate your accolades and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards Sonja & Bernie (Owner/Hosts

Andrew

“Much nicer than expected” Reviewed on Trip Advisor 16 April 2013 Don’t let them fool you. This is not really a motel in the traditional sense of the word. Sorry, but motels don’t walk guests to their rooms! As others have indicated – it’s very clean and modern and the rooms are very well appointed. It looks like it was just built. The staff are very friendly. Really a surprise, and a great place to stay in the area. And they even have good breakfast. Sonja, Owner at bairnsdalemotel.com.au, responded to this review Lily33532 It is such a pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable experience while staying with us. We know it is our roll to offer comfortable welcoming surrounds and ensure that our guests get our best. We do walk all the guests to the rooms, this way we get to interact on an individual basis and add further information which the guest may require. It is our wish that our guests are welcomed like friends to our home and ensure they have all that they need. Safe and happy travels, Kind regards Sonja Owner/Host

Anonymous

“Excellent stay” Reviewed on Trip Advisor 17 April 2013 Wonderful accommodation. Often when you see the management-provided “professional” photos of a property, you expect it looks way better than it is. Not here — what you get is better than what you see. Spotless rooms as another reviewer mentioned. Some may not like the industrial cladding, but we loved it! A lot! Sonja and Bernie were wonderful, friendly hosts. The warm welcome was second to none. A family-run operation could not be better. Thank you, Sonja, for the recommendation to go to Raymond Island. Had a great evening communing with the local furry wildlife. We stayed only one night en route from Melbourne to the NSW South Coast. Had we known how great the place was, we would have definitely stayed longer. Sonja, Owner at bairnsdalemotel.com.au, responded to this review Hello rycarse Your review is very much appreciated thank you. As hosts we feel it is our responsibility in ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay and also to advise them of some of the wonderful things and places to see. As we have only lived here 2 years we too are learning about the wealth of exciting places to see in the area. A wonderful guest experienced and told us of the digitate delta in our Mitchell River. I have attached a note for future visitors, who may be very interested in this formation. “The Mitchell River silt jetties are an unusually long, thin landform located in the Gippsland Lakes region in Victoria, Australia. A type of digitate delta, they have been formed over millions of years by sediment deposition from the Mitchell River. The 8km long silt jetties have been nominated by geologists as a site of international significance, second in size to those of the Mississippi River at the Gulf of Mexico.” Once again, many thanks to that guest and to you for taking the time to tell others of your experience, we do trust you have enjoyed more wonderful times during your stay in our country. Safe travels. Kind regards Sonja – Owner/Host

rycarse

“Great accommodation, perfect hosts!” Reviewed on Trip Advisor 30 April 2013 We had a great time at this top class motel. Sonja and Bernie cater to all of your needs, the cooked breakfast is second to none! Very knowledgeable about things to do in the area and make you feel right at home. We had a deluxe room with an outdoor jacuzzi, which was amazing! Would recommend this to anyone looking for extremely comfortable, clean, comfy accom, with a homely feel. We will be back, Jason & Hannah Sonja, Owner at bairnsdalemotel.com.au, responded to this review Hello Jason and Hannah, It is so nice to hear from you with your comments. We understand you had a celebration that weekend and we are so pleased you were able to share that at Bairnsdalemotel.com. Best wishes and we look forward to your return in the near future. Regards Bernie – Owner Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple

Jason & Hannah

“Fantasic Accommodation, great hosts.” Reviewed 5 May 2013 The owners Bernie & Sonja are fantastic moteliers. From our first contact, they made us feel extremely welcome. We had the pleasure of a two night stay 22 & 23 April. By the time we arrived in Bairnsdale we’d travelled 2,000 kms, in 3 days. Exhausted from travel and family commitment, we were very pleased to find our accommodation of first class standard. The rooms are spotless, spacious, and modern, with everything we needed, complete with a washing machine and clothes dryer in the room. We will be back. Thank you Bernie & Sonja. This review was written on TripAdvisor. Sonja, Owner at bairnsdalemotel.com.au, responded to this review 8 May 2013 Hello Jenny So pleased to receive your review. Bernie and I make sure all our guests are welcomed and treated as our personal friends. It is important that you, our guests feel at home and enjoy the stay from check-in to check-out. After such a long journey, it was our pleasure to have your room ready for your arrival. We look forward to your return one day, when you may have time to take in a little of the many wonderful things to see and do in this part of our world. Regards Sonja Owner/Host Stayed April 2013, travelled with family

Jenny - Mt Coolam

“We travelled from NZ to stay at Bairnsdalemotel.com” Reviewed 5 May 2013 Last year we stayed at Bairnsdalemotel.com & were so impressed we returned this year with 4 friends. They were equally impressed with the high standard of accommodation and hospitality that there is no doubt we will return yet again. There are many places in Australia for Kiwis to visit, but the local attractions around Bairnsdale make this our favourite. This area truely is a hidden secret. – Well, many hidden secrets actually, the marvellous scenery of the lakes, the cafes/restaurants, the shops (more choice than you would think in a country town), the world’s largest delta, koala’s in their natural habitat, the countryside & the small towns with very friendly people. No doubt this area is extremely busy in summer, but we were there in Autumn & the weather was great (dry & temps in the 20’s), & no crowds. Ideal. We recommend this area of East Gippsland, especially to Kiwis visiting Melbourne. It’s only a pleasant two & a half hour drive from Melbs. For selfish reasons we don’t want it getting too crowded, but everyone who can should take the opportunity to see this marvellous part of the world, & stay with Sonja & Bernie at Bairnsdalemotel.com. Sonja, Owner at bairnsdalemotel.com.au, responded to this review 8 May 2013 Hello Stapeli It was our pleasure to welcome you and your friends back to Bairnsdalemotel.com.au. A week seems a long time, but we know that you had places to go and things to do, which did not get done, still there is next time, to go fishing and boating, visit the wineries and visit the Alpine area, not far from your base camp with us. While the drive from Bairnsdale to Melb is a pleasant one, 3.5 hours is the approx. driving time, but I am sure your calculations of time, were clouded by all the stops on the way. No doubt you found some lovely cafés for your daily coffee, as you told us of your visits into the town centre for coffee, the daily walk. It was also our pleasure to cook your breakfasts each morning and Bernie is sure that you managed to try all the items on the menu this time as well as the evening meals ordered in from the Grand Terminus Hotel – a wonderful menu selection available for all our guests. Bernie and I look forward to welcoming you and your Kiwi friends back, when travelling from Sydney to Melbourne via East Gippsland in the near future. Kind regards, Sonja Owner/Host.

Stapeli

What a beautiful motel with fine touches for guests to enjoy. Love the vegie gardens and the friendliness of the hosts. You need look no where else in Bairnsdale to find the best place to stay./// Hello Pauline, it has been Bernie and my pleasure to look after you and your colleagues last weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Regards Sonja Owner/Host

Pauline Venn- SES Volunteer

Hello Sonja and Bernie, Sorry it has taken me so long to get these photos to you from Rebecca and Leith’s wedding back in March but here are some of the “getting ready” shots of the girls. Most feature your wonderful motel in them and some others I have just added for you to take a peek. Sorry there are so many but I had trouble deciding which ones to send and which ones to leave out. Your Motel was the perfect backdrop for the girls preparations. The bright uncluttered rooms are what I always hope for to capture the bridal preparation but seldom are lucky enough to get. My husband and I had a wonderful stay with you. The perfect location for one of our first nights away from our two young girls. Kindest Regards, Kellie Clark www.kreativeimages.com.au Hello Kellie, What a pleasure it was to have the wedding party stay with us. As we can see from the photos the wedding party had a wonderful time and the two tiny tots, really enjoyed being dressed up it was a wonderful time for all. Kellie may I say that your work with the party and the results by capturing the moments were superb. Regards Bernie Owner/Host. Note: Photos from this special wedding can be seem on our Blog page. – Bernie

Kellie Clark

Fantastic place! Sonja and Bernie were so nice. Very comfortable, modern and well appointed rooms. Amazing breakfasts are served with a smile. One of the best i have stayed in./// Hi Toby – It was great to meet you both and to hear you had a wonderful time exploring during your stay. We appreciate your breakfast comments – “served with a smile” – a little thing, which means so much to so many, there is NO cost, it is our pleasure to give a welcoming smile to brighten your day in our home. Best wishes and we trust we meet again soon, Regards Sonja & Bernie Owner/Hosts.

Toby

I had the luxury of staying at Bairnsdale Motel for one month recently. Sonja and Bernie (hosts) definitely go that extra mile to ensure guests are comfortable and have everything they need. They even enquired after my safety via telephone when I didn’t return as anticipated. I will not hesitate to stay there again and to refer this delightful accommodation to anyone who requires a venue. Hello Sandy, Thank you for writing this review for our future guests, we know that when you are away from home for 2-3 weeks you want the comforts of home also. We endeavour to make your stay special and take care of your needs and the apartment is well equipped for long term with the added benefit of our housekeepers doing a daily service. Meals like breakfast or evening meals can be ordered in when you don’t want to cook, or you can stroll to the Bistro just 500m from the gate. We take care to ensure our guests arrive safely and have our location details prior to arrival, especially when arriving in the dark. Sandy it was our pleasure to meet you and we enjoyed your company during your stay. Best wishes with your career in the future. Regards Bernie, Owner/Host

Sandy O'Keefe

We have just returned home from another perfect two night stay. Thankyou Sonja and Bernie for making sure everything was just right. We’ll be back soon. Doug and Carol Hardy, Longwarry North, Vic. //// Hello Doug and Carol, it was so nice to have you back and catch up on the Festive Season. We trust you caught some fish to take home as we know you get so much enjoyment from fishing in this area. Thanks so much for your message, we look forward to catching up again soon. Regards Bernie Owner/Host

Caroline Hardy

One fantastic place to stay Most comfortable rooms we have had the pleasure to rest in Décor was outstanding . The bed was out of this world just ask my wife she wanted to take it home .Bernie & Sonja were the ideal hosts. Magic stay ////// Hello Merv & Ann, it is so lovely to hear your comments. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and to advise you of the availability of the mattress in which you slept on. We order direct from the wholesaler on your behalf and ensure you get the size you require delivered to your home. Bernie and I look forward to welcoming you back, when next in the area. Regards Sonja Owner/Host

Merv & Ann Bennett

We decided to go away for the night for our anniversary, the first time away on our own in 22 years. We had not made any plans or bookings, looked at a few motels and when we came to Bairnsdale Motel they just blew the rest out of the water! The rooms are beautiful, modern and spotless! The service impeccable! So friendly and helpful. We stayed in the courtyard spa king room and I have to say the hot tub and outdoor shower were divine! We are already working out when we can come back!! Thank you for making our stay one to remember 🙂 Hello Simone & Paul, It was a great pleasure to receive your message, we are so pleased you had such a great time together, you well deserve it. We will look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future. We will try to have the same room available for your next stay. Regards Bernie and Sonja.

Simone and Paul

The motel was terrific in every way. Clean, spacious, comfortable, good equipment, beds comfortable. The rural feel with feature walls of galvanised iron are just lively. Very friendly owners. Hello Janet, after computer updates I have found your very much appreciated review which was lost in the files. Many thanks for your accolades, it was our pleasure to welcome you to Bairnsdalemotel.com.au. We look forward to welcoming you back when next in the area. Regards Bernie Owner/Host

Janet perry

We would greatly appreciate you taking the time to add your own reviews.

Required Field